Charities’ political activities: a force for good in public life

I read this and thought it was the best set of arguments about why charities are good for political debate

andrewpurkis

Evidence to House of Lords Select Committee on Charities

The Positive Role of Charities in Public Policy and Awareness

  1. I am Andrew Purkis, and am a Trustee of ActionAid International and Executive Director of a grant-giving charitable Trust. I spent my career in the charity sector as Assistant Director of NCVO, Director of the CPRE (Council for the Protection of Rural England), Secretary for Public Affairs to the Archbishop of Canterbury, Chief Executive of The Diana, Princess of Wales Memorial Fund and later of the Tropical Health and Education Trust. I have also been the Chair of four UK charities and Trustee of two others. I submit this evidence in an individual capacity only.
  2. I have kept the focus on charities’ role in public policy, and tried to keep it brief. I shall be very happy to furnish more detail or references on request. We are talking here about political…

View original post 1,286 more words

Leave a Reply

