A housing solution for a woman from Hastings living in a car

This message was sent by a woman BHT housed earlier in the year.  It is wonderful when we can house someone whose need is so great.  Her story is far from unique.  The happy ending is getting harder and harder to achieve each year. I wish we could do more.  This is her story:

“I’m 52 and live in Hastings. Back in 2015 through no fault of my own I had to give up my home. I was devastated and never been homeless before. I found it really hard to tell my family and friends so I only confided in a couple of them.  I stayed at a friends on a sofa and next day someone else’s. They were lovely to me as I have a jack russel 3 year old .

“In the end instead of putting on my friends I started to stay in the car in a carpark near a holiday park, so was able to use the toilet and freshen up. It was very cold, me and my dog cuddled up under a few throws as I didn’t want anyone to see me night times.  I went and put my name on the housing list in Hastings and I was offered emergency accommodation but they couldn’t take in my dog so I had to carry on in my car.  It wasn’t long before I was able to bid on one bed flats. I could finally dare to see an end to the devastating and humiliating time I and my dog had gone through.

“Out of the blue I received a phone call from Shirley. She said them words I had waited for 4 months to hear, “we have a flat with Brighton Housing Trust that we think would suit me.”

“I met up with Shirley the next day, we had trouble with the lock so went back the next day. I loved it so much and knew this was the right place for me. I went to the office and signed the tenancy agreement and they handed me the keys.

“I cried with relief, but it didnt just stop there. Shirley was able to get me help for furniture and cooker from the Magdaline charity trusts which was so generous. I don’t know what I would have done with out all the help.  I have been in my beautiful flat with my dog TY for 3 months now.  The Brighton Housing Trust continue to help me in any way and I feel they are a massive safety net around me and thankyou from the bottom of my heart and especially to Shirley xxx”

Leave a Reply

