I have drafted a section on housing and homelessness for this week’s Queen’s Speech

queens-speech-ncrjThis week the Queen will read Her Majesty’s Most Gracious Speech, sometimes referred to as the Gracious Address, or, less formally, the Queen’s Speech. It has, of course, nothing to do with the Queen herself.  She is merely the messenger.  The speech is written by the government of the day, and sets out its legislative programme for the next session of parliament.

Rather than reading the Prime Minister’s speech this year, I have drafted a section on housing and homelessness which I humbly beseech Her Majesty substitutes for the message prepared by the Prime Minister. This is what I hope to hear on 18th May:

“My Government believes that homelessness is an abomination in this day and age, particularly in the sixth richest economy in the world. Councils will be resourced to build the homes needed to house current and future generations.

“My Government will bring forward legislation abolishing the Right to Buy, recognising it makes no economic sense to continue with a policy that sees public subsidy creating private wealth while failing to address housing need, homelessness and conditions in the private rented sector.

“My Government is committed to ensuring that there is a decent home for all before the end of this Parliament. It will reward landlords in the private sector whose homes meet the Decent Homes Standard by reducing the level of taxation on such properties.

“My Government believes that we are all in this together. It will increase tax levels for the wealthiest to ensure that rents may be subsidised for the poorest to ensure that nobody pays more than the Living Rent for their home.

“In the pursuit of fairness, My Government will ensure that houses beco me once again where people live, not an investment opportunity for the rich and mega rich, by bringing forward legislation to end the practice of foreign investors, tax avoiders and evaders, and billionaires buying up existing and new homes in the capital and throughout One’s Green and Pleasant Land.

“Above all, My Government intends to create a legacy for ending homelessness with all My Subjects being housed in well maintained, safe, affordable and secure homes.”

I guess it is off to the Tower for me  ….

6 thoughts on “I have drafted a section on housing and homelessness for this week’s Queen’s Speech

  1. I have drafted a section on housing and homelessness for this week’s Queen’s Speech | spiritandanimal.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

