I hate talk of development pipelines and units in management. I like homes for people to live in

Sometimes in my job I can get caught up with the latest government announcement that impacts on our work. I’m still coming to terms with the decision of the Chancellor to abandon the 2013 rent agreement with housing associations that leaves a £1 million plus hole in BHT’s Business Plan over the next 10 years and a £42 billion in the business plans of housing associations overall. The impact of this decision will be a reduction in the number of new homes built.

One thing I can’t stand about working in housing, or rather with some housing professionals, is that they talk about development pipelines and units in management. Actually they are homes being built and homes people live in.

So a comment sent in by a new tenant of BHT Housing Services reminded me what is really important: “Just touching base, all good here … and I’m settling in nicely. Hoping housing benefit all ok. Neighbours that I’ve met are nice and the block is nice and quiet. Just wanted to thank you again 🙂 David”.

Leave a Reply

