“I have had a life beyond my wildest dreams”

Over Christmas BHT received many generous donations in response to our Christmas appeal for First Base.  First Base offers a range of services to support people who are sleeping rough or insecurely housed in the city, to get off the streets, start realising their aspirations through work, learning and leisure and find a place they can call home.

But there was one letter, accompanying a donation, that particularly caught my eye.  It read: “BHT’s Recovery Project really helped me over 20 years ago, to turn my life around.  Since then I have had a life beyond my wildest dreams”.  He wrote about his employment, and concluded: “BHT is an exceptional organisation which helps save many lives.  I know because you helped to save mine”.

That letter meant so much to me as I remember him and was thrilled to see that life has been good to him.  The letter meant more to me than even his generous donation.

Leave a Reply

